It\’s my world, join me, won\’t you?

A little bit about knitting, a little bit about my family and anything else I feel like writing about :-)

Calling all knitters and felters!!!! A prize is involved…..

I read somewhere on someone else’s blog or a post to knitlist or knitu, I don’t really remember where exactly, that this knitter made up a bunch of scarves each Christmas and just let all the women in her family have at the basket and pick which one they wanted.  I think this sounds like a WONDERFUL idea and want to expand it to include other smaller projects, such as felted bags, hats, IPOD cozies and such.  SOOOOoooo, I am enlisting your help in suggesting QUICK and pretty patterns to complete, I will be knitting for my teenage nieces to my mom and mother-in-law, so it will run the gamut.  I am also trying to shop from my stash for this one.–I have lots of smaller amounts of yarn of all types and would love to put them to good use, instead of just looking pretty on my shelves.  I am a big fan of felting and have an obscenely large amount of wool that I could use for all sorts of items.  Please point me to free patterns or those that I can find in magazines and books–I probably have the mag or book at home, I’m not really looking to purchase patterns online and increase my never-ending stash of patterns, but if it’s a good one and I gotta have it, then ok, lay it on me.  Thanks guys, I would really appreciate it, and there will be a drawing for a prize of some nice yarn or goodies to all those that suggest projects.  Leave me a comment with your pattern suggestion and a way to get hold of you if you win.  Thanks!!!!!

September 2, 2007 - Posted by | knitting

5 Comments »

  1. I’ve got a few free patterns on my website at http://www.elanknits.com, some involve felting & there are a few on my blog under free patterns.

    Comment by elanknits | September 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. I’ve been thinking of doing the Mrs. Beeton wrist warmers. I don’t know how complicated they will actually be, but they look really cute and use stash yarn. They are a free pattern from Brenda Dayne at knitty

    http://www.knitty.com/issuewinter05/PATTmrsbeeton.html

    Becky (Becklespeckle)
    http://becklespeckle.wordpress.com

    Comment by speckle | September 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. I made myself a Booga Bag (http://www.blacksheepbags.com/booga_bag.html) and my teenaged daughter loved it. I didn’t use Kureyon, I used some hand dyed yarn that I had leftover. So, I made my daughter one using different hand dyed yarn. Then her friends saw it and pronounced it COOL (or maybe Awesome) or whatever the RIGHT adjective is now (I try to block it out) and so now they all “need” one too. So, that’s my suggestion. I also made ones for my 2 oldest friends who are mature women and they both loved them.

    I make the handles longer than the instructions indicate so that they can be worn comfortably as shoulder bags and didn’t do i-cords (since I have no patience for them) but instead crocheted the handles.

    Comment by purplepower | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  4. Have you seen the pattern for the Elle Bag? I’ve had it stashed for quite some time because I just LOVE houndstooth patterns. I thought of it when I read your post. It might be good for using up stash since you need a smaller amount of two colors rather than enough of one color to make up a whole bag. What’s even better? It’s a free pattern! I had my doubts in the past about stranded knitting for felted purses, but I just finished a modified Booga Bag using the fair isle pattern from the Kauni Cardigan, and I’m really, really pleased with how it came out.

    Here’s a link to the Elle Bag pattern:

    http://home.earthlink.net/~brooks7/pats/ElleBag.pdf

    Comment by taralynchard | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  5. http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter03/PATTfrenchmarket.html

    Comment by kyench | September 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

