It\’s my world, join me, won\’t you?

A little bit about knitting, a little bit about my family and anything else I feel like writing about :-)

Shedir is She-done!

 

Well, this was definitely not the quick knit I thought it would be, but it IS gorgeous!  At one point, I contacted the designer, Jenna, to figure out the cabling–she was so amazing to get back to me so quickly!  I finally finished it up today and it took a bath and is drying out now.  I hope to have it in the mail in the next day or two to my aunt–she’s been waiting for it.  Hope everyone else is knitting away on their chemo caps–it’s been bitter weather here and I’m sure they will be appreciated.  I have very few entries into the chemo cap challenge/contest–in fact I think I have more prizes than contestants right now–so don’t be shy, spread the word.  The more people that donate caps, the more prizes I will seek out.

I just finished watching the Martha Stewart Show on Handmade Knitwear and our group made it in a few times.  I’m just happy I wasn’t doing something embarrassing.  I should try surfing You-Tube to see if any snipets popped up and try to link it here…

PLEASE KNIT A CHEMO CAP AND DONATE IT–KNIT FOR GOOD!!

February 25, 2008 - Posted by | knitting

6 Comments »

  1. I’ve sent 2 hats to Jacksonville, FL so far.

    Lynn

    Comment by nupermom | March 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Didn’t leave contact info, sorry!

    Lpp65 AT hotmail DOT com

    Comment by nupermom | March 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. Saw you on Rav — I knitted a chemo cap in December for a friend’s friend who is going through chemo right now. I’ll do a couple more, as I bought extra yarn at the time (one soy and one organic yarn) and then post back here again!

    Also knitted one six years ago for my MIL who went through chemo for lung cancer.

    Comment by Kate | March 5, 2008 | Reply

  4. Okay, I’ve got the needles and the hook going…..and I am going to throw it out there….how in the heck do I figure out where to donate hats? I’ve googled minnesota donate cancer caps, etc….and I/m hitting brick walls. Yep, I’m certain I’m doing something incredibly stupid….it’s never an INTELLIGENT snafu, now is it? TIA kadezmom@yahoo.com (shelly)

    Comment by kadezmom | March 6, 2008 | Reply

  5. Love your blog and you “Knit for Good” idea! Thanks for the encouragement to all of us to knit a chemo cap and reach out to someone else. As I mentioned to you on Ravelry, I donated my cap to KnitMichigan which distributes chemo caps to cancer treatment centers throughout Michigan. And I’ll be knitting more in the next few weeks with the additional yarn I have from the kit I received from you. I’m playing it forward!

    Comment by crazysox2008 | March 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. I just sent two caps along to the Duke Medicine Auxiliary. (It would’ve been three, but I mistakenly chose Red Heart for the last one, and it’s way too scratchy for a sensitive head.) I plan to send a few more in the Peaches & Creme, once my life slows down a bit. I can’t wait to see your final numbers!

    Comment by divamaglia | March 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

