It\’s my world, join me, won\’t you?

A little bit about knitting, a little bit about my family and anything else I feel like writing about :-)

And the winners are…..

Thank you, thank you, thank you guys for all your time and effort to make and donate chemo caps, to give a little comfort to people you don’t even know and for your patience and participation with me in this contest over the past 2 months!  Keeping track of everyone became rather difficult after a while and I wanted to make sure I had everyone accounted for.  I had Princess Peanut randomly draw out numbers (each hat that was knitted and donated rec’d a number, I kept track of which numbers belonged to which knitters)–unfortunately she wouldn’t stand still for me to take a picture of her while doing it…  So without further ado, the following prizes have been awarded:

Project bag from www.cablesandlace.com donated by Eric for the Sweaters for Dragons podcast–Marsha in MI (hobobird) .  Marsha donated a whopping 36 chemo caps to the Oakland Children’s Hospital in CA–way to go!

A gorgeous skein of handspun donated by Dez Crawford goes to Patsyarnbasket–who donated 18 caps–you go girl!

A skein of Wooly Boully yarn donated by www.theyarngrove.com goes to Yvette.  Yvette donated a total of 26 chemo caps–super knitter!!

A prize of Costa Rican coffee directly from Costa Rica donated by Booglass on Ravelry goes to sewroute of Nova Scotia.  She donated 24 caps–amazing!

A prize package donated by my friends at www.ddkyarns.com was awarded to knitbysue.  Sue donated 5 caps to the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN–excellent! 

A package of Mary Kay products donated by yours truly went to poohknits.  Poohknits donated 4 caps–way to go!

A gorgeous set of stirling silver and swarovski stitch markers donated by www.amethystcottage.com goes to Loudgrrl4ever who donated 4 caps to Tampa General.

Congratulations to all the winners!  I will be contacting you individually to get your address–some packages will be mailed out by me, some by the prize donors, so please be patient as we arrange to get your prizes out to you.  A total of 137 caps were made and donated during this contest.  Caps were donated to such places as:  Stanford, CT, Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN, Oakland Children’s Hospital in CA, Jacksonville, FL, Michigan, University of Pennsylvania, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Tampa General Hospital, and Duke University Medical Center.  You should be proud of yourselves and please keep up your KNITTING FOR GOOD!

As a quick update on my life….my sister’s wedding was last Saturday and we could not have asked for better weather.  Princess Peanut carried her flower basket down the aisle and managed to drop a couple of rose petals on the way–she looked so precious.  She was sitting there like the princess she is having her hair done that morning, she let me demanded I put nailpolish on her fingers and toes like mine, she even told her father to to put her dress on over her head so as not to mess up her hair.  As I was holding her hand while she got her hair done I started tearing up.  My mind fast-forwarded 25 or so years from now, imagining watching her get ready for her wedding.  But anyway, it was a fun, tiring day.  Princess Peanut did not nap until she got her cake and ice cream, after which she promptly crawled into my lap and passed out–covered in chocolate, of course.  To me, this is what it is all about, getting married and having kids, it’s the best life has to offer!

My aunt has rallied from her chemo treatments and the surgeon performed her reconstructive surgery on her leg last Friday.  It was an 11 hour surgery and she is still in intensive care.  She’ll be in the hospital for close to 2 weeks and then a rehab hospital for at least a month.  Something tells me her chemo treatments were a walk in the park compared to this surgery.  We’re hoping for a quick and complete recovery and we will all go to visit her when she is able to have visitors.  Thanks for keeping her in your prayers.

 As this post has taken me more than 4 tries to get up, I will be dormant for a while as I switch to my new computer.  I will have access to my gmail acct, though, so feel free to drop me a line that way as I change over all my old accts, etc.  Hope you are having a great spring–talk to you soon!

April 28, 2008 - Posted by | Family and Life, knitting

2 Comments »

  1. You had a great response to the chemocap Challenge. That is wonderful. Glad to hear Princess Peanut was a gorgeous little flower girl. Happy knitting.

    Comment by goldthreads | April 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Ranting takes time and precious energy, but if we band together, we can share the load. Click https://zhoutest.wordpress.com/

    Comment by levinevillarreal30 | April 9, 2016 | Reply


Leave a comment